Names Of Eight New Supreme Courtroom Justices Confirmed By Senate




A listing of eight Supreme Courtroom justices despatched to the Senate by President Muhammadu Buhari have been confirmed.


The Senate on Tuesday permitted and confirmed the appointments.


President Muhammadu Buhari had by a letter learn by the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, penultimate week, requested the Senate to approve the appointment of the eight justices.


Buhari had stated the appointments had been primarily based on the suggestions of the Nationwide Judicial Council.


Buhari had additionally stated his motion was “in pursuant to Part 231 (2) of the 1999 Structure as amended and upon the recommendation of the Nationwide Judicial Council in keeping with their rating and seniority within the Courtroom of Attraction.”


The nominees are, Lawal Garba, (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M M Saulawa (North West).


Others are, Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (South South), Tijani Abubakar (North East), and Emmanuel Agim (South South).


The Chairman of the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Authorized Issues, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele, offered the report of his panel’s screening train for senators’ consideration on Tuesday.


He stated his committee discovered that every one the judges are eminently certified for the exalted positions and that there was no petition in opposition to any of them.


The Senate subsequently confirmed their appointment at plenary.


Supply hyperlink

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.